Pain Points

edited April 4 in Midwest
Hi, I'm new to camping could someone tell me what's the biggest pain point. I think it is setting up the tent. If so, what do you think could make my first time a better experience. 

Comments

• Kasey M.Kasey M. ✭✭✭
    I personally hate tents. Haha - I don't like setting them up, i can't see the stars, i hate packing them back away, cleaning them etc.

I usually use tarps, or sil tarps or poncho tarps. Alternatively is hammock camping, very comfortable in most of 3 seasons. 

Pain points.....hmm, not camping enough. LOL But really probably making sure I don't pack to much stuff.

A great book to read is 
  • @Kasey M. Looks like you got cut off ... what book were you mentioning? Would love to check it out! 
  • Kasey M.Kasey M. ✭✭✭
    Oh yeah - that's weird! There are a lot of good books.....but Woodcraft & Camping by George W. Sears. And another one Wildwood Wisdom by Ellsworth Jaeger. These were written back in the day before Ultralight was applied to backpacking and such. 

Reduce pain points with practice. Some gear can be used for multiple things and some gear is exaptive (meant for one thing initially but then crosses over for another trait/use) through practice - making your woods experience better.

Nessmuk said, in other words, "Don't go to the woods to rough it - we deal with rough living in the city and at work, go to the woods to smooth it." 

Check out Woodcraft & Camping

Best,

Kasey Marsters
    foxtrickadventures.com
  • Kasey M.Kasey M. ✭✭✭
    Freedom of the Hills is also really great for 1st time camping and for when you get more advanced. 

The Complete Walker would be super helpful too.
  • Kasey M.Kasey M. ✭✭✭
    AND. If you can get to an REI or LL Bean or a local guiding/outdoor education outfit they'll help you too.